To be of use…

I have a confession to make. I just now realized that I have spent about 99% of my entire year on a couch watching reruns.  20 pounds later, I decided to get back on the track of living. Sulking and vacation are over.

I knew I needed to do something, but what?   I have a child who still needs help but she’s at a stage where she wants to be independent, and I need more. I kept thinking maybe I should go and teach English to the South Korean students here but those positions are filled. The answer however, came sooner and much closer to home.

My baby’s nanny once told me that she struggled with English-both reading and speaking. She left her junior year in high school saying, education where she came from was not priority. They all expected to end up working in the sugarcane fields anyway so why bother with reading and math? One day in conversation, she mentioned it to me again and that my three year old has been giving her vocabulary lessons in simple English conversation. Realizing that was what it was when sometimes I can hear her say, “Nanny ‘afraid’ means, ‘scared.”

So I have decided to review her reading skills by asking her to read bedtime stories for my three year old while I sit by to listen.  She was extremely hesitant when we first started, my guess is because she was embarrassed at what I was going to hear. However, once we started she went from reading 3 pages of Peter Rabbit, to a whole book of the Tortoise and the Hare in a week’s time. In between all of this, I have been teaching her how to read the clock. Do simple multiplication.

She smiles more confidently these days and I’m hoping one of those reasons is because she found out she is capable, and if she continues, she can look forward to a future that hopefully does not include the sugarcane fields. As for me, I’m just glad for the opportunity to be useful again.

Leave a Reply

